OCJP Awards

Outstanding Criminal Justice Program Awards

Award Criteria and Deadline

Each year at the Forum on Criminal Justice, NCJA honors up to five outstanding criminal justice programs that showcase successful promising practices in criminal justice. The award winners are evaluated by a panel of criminal justice experts based on the following criteria:

  • Does the program address an important criminal justice issue?
  • Does the program demonstrate collaboration among criminal justice allied agencies or disciplines?
  • Can the program provide quantitative evidence of its effectiveness in accomplishing program goals?
  • Does the program leverage federal, state, local, or other non-governmental funds and resources?
  • Can the program be easily replicated in other jurisdictions?

We are particularly interested in programs that are innovative and can document concrete results.

Nominate Programs

The nomination period opens in the spring. 

The OCJP award application consists of three parts:

  1. Program questionnaire;
  2. Supporting materials; and
  3. Signature page.

You may nominate multiple programs, but please use only one form per program.

All program nominations must include signatures from both the program director and the state criminal justice agency administrator (SAA). Submissions that do not include these signatures will not be considered. Click here to find your SAA.

Tips for Successful Applications

View webinar | Download transcript

In 2016, NCJA hosted an informational webinar for potential applications. In this webinar, Outstanding Criminal Justice Program Awards: Tips and Tricks for Success, we discuss the elements that go into a submitting a successful OCJP Award application package, including what the application evaluators look for in a winning program and what information can and should be included for your nomination materials. Using examples from previous winners, this webinar also demonstrates what makes a program stand apart from the other applicants.

Past Award Recipients

Click below to view past award recipients by year:

Contact Us

For more information, please contact Bethany Broida, NCJA Director of Communications, at (202) 448-1713 or bbroida@ncja.org.