Who We Are

The NCJA represents state, tribal and local governments on crime control and crime prevention issues.

Who We Are

The National Criminal Justice Association (NCJA) has been representing state, tribal and local governments on criminal and juvenile justice issues for more than 40 years. We advocate for effective criminal justice policy and funding for justice assistance programs across a broad range of policy issues, from local law enforcement and violent crime reduction, to corrections, victim services, drug treatment, pretrial justice reform, and more. Our members represent all facets of the criminal and juvenile justice community, from law enforcement, corrections, prosecution, defense, courts, victim-witness services and educational institutions to federal, state and local elected officials. Learn more about our mission, policies, activities, and services we offer.

NCJA Staff

The NCJA staff has a wealth of experience in providing assistance to federal, state, local and tribal justice agencies to identify barriers and develop strategies to increase the effectiveness of criminal justice agencies and programs. Browse staff profiles.

Governance

The NCJA is governed by an Executive Committee, Advisory Council, and Board of Directors. These volunteers devote countless hours to guiding the NCJA in its mission. View committee members.

State Administering Agencies

State Administering Agencies (SAAs) are entities within state and territorial governments and the District of Columbia that are responsible for comprehensive criminal justice planning and policy development. Our core membership, the NCJA, with funding from the Bureau of Justice Assistance, is the primary technical assistance provider for SAAs. Learn more about SAAs.

Working Together

Become a Member

NCJA members receive news and updates about federal activity; funding opportunities; innovative and promising policies and practices; and discounted rates for NCJA's annual conference, and so much more. Membership is open to criminal justice practitioners, students, state and public agencies, tribal governments, criminal justice coordinating councils, nonprofits, and corporations. Compare member benefits.

Request Services

The NCJA staff has extensive experience in providing assistance to federal, state, local and tribal justice agencies to identify barriers and develop strategies to increase the effectiveness of criminal justice agencies and programs. (View the NCJA resume). NCJA staff is supported by a cadre of experienced criminal justice decision makers who can provide specialized expertise identified by NCJA client agencies and programs. Learn more about services we offer.

Apply for an Internship

The NCJA offers semester-long and summer internships to undergraduates. This internship program is designed to provide substantive experience in criminal justice policy. Interns primarily research and write articles for two weekly newsletters; summarize and analyze criminal justice research reports; attend and report on congressional hearings, Justice Department briefings, and other local events; and participate in other projects as assigned. Clerical duties are minimal. Apply for an internship.

Contact Us

National Criminal Justice Association
720 7th Street, NW
Third Floor
Washington, DC 20001
Tel: (202) 628-8550
Fax: (202) 448-1723
Email: info@ncja.org


Chris Asplen
Executive Director
(202) 448-1712
casplen@ncja.org

Linda Ballou
Accountant
(202) 628-8550
linda.ballou@yptc.com

Bethany Broida
Director of Communications
(202) 448-1713
bbroida@ncja.org

Cabell Cropper
Senior Policy Adviser
cccropper46@gmail.com

Jack Cutrone
Senior Policy Adviser
(202) 628-8550
jcutrone@ncja.org

Robert Greeves
Senior Policy Adviser
(202) 448-1717
rgreeves@ncja.org

Carol Poole
Senior Policy Adviser
(202) 569-3445
cpoole@ncja.org

Elizabeth Pyke
Director of Government Affairs
(202) 448-1715
epyke@ncja.org

Janene Scelza
Web Manager
(202) 448-1719
jscelza@ncja.org

David Steingraber
Senior Policy Adviser
(202) 448-1716
dsteingraber@ncja.org

Nicole Thomas
Staff Associate
(202) 628-8550
nthomas@ncja.org

Tammy Woodhams
Senior Staff Associate
(202) 448-1711
twoodhams@ncja.org